Heavy D’s Family Releases Statement/ “BadaBoom” For Ludacris/Busta With Cash Money?/ Big Sean Reponds/ New Wale Video

Posted: November 18, 2011 in Hip Hop News

Heavy D’s Family Releases Statement; Al Sharpton and Diddy To Speak At Wake

Following Heavy D’s unexpected death last week, a public wake has been announced for this Thursday in Mt. Vernon, New York.

According to Billboard.biz, close associate Diddy and Al Sharpton are expected to speak during the ceremony, which will be held from noon until 6 p.m. at Grace Baptist Church. More information can be found on the website rememberheavyd.com.

Additionally, Heavy D’s family has released a statement in honor of the rapper, whose autopsy was inconclusive. Read the full statement below (via MTV’s RapFix).

“Hev had great love for his family and friends; he was a kind and giving spirit who extended and shared himself with everyone who crossed his path. He had a heart of gold, was approachable, very personable and gave of himself willingly and unconditionally. Though Hev will most notably be remembered for his work both behind-the-scenes and in the forefront, he will always be remembered by us as a generous soul who remained humble and unselfish till his final days.

Out of all Hev’s successes and accomplishments, in his eyes, his most important triumph was that of becoming a father. Hev’s love for his daughter Xea was profound–she was the center of his life, his heart, his soul. He often said “I cannot live without her and that she embodied every phenomenal attribute that he brought to this world”. The name and the success of Heavy D will always be synonymous with music forever. He never compromised his values and artistry, and encouraged his peers to do the same. To us, Hev was the one who made us laugh, cry, sing, dance and turn a frown upside down. As a family, we are devastated by Hev’s passing but through our faith in God and support from family, friends and fans-we are comforted, blessed and will remain strong. His “bear hugs” are going to be deeply missed.” -The Myers Family

In lieu of flowers the family is requesting that donations be made to the Heavy D and Xea Myers Fund: C/O JP Morgan Chase 726 Madison Avenue New York, NY 10085 Checks payable to: The Heavy D and Xea Myers Fund.
Heavy D Information Line: 212-381-2037
Website: www.rememberheavyd.com

Rachel Noerdlinger President, Noerdlinger Media EVP, Reverend Al Sharpton Media E: rachel@noerdlingermedia.com

Via HipHopDX.com

Ludacris Fires Shots At Drake & Big Sean On “BadaBoom”

On his freshly released mixtape 1.21 Gigawatts , Ludacris assumedly takes aim at Drake and Big Sean on the track “Badaboom.” The DTP leader, who has previously spoken out on rappers stealing his “Supa Dupa” flow (denoted by one-word punch lines at the end of sentences), fires subliminal shots at the rappers on the cut for claiming they invented the style.

“Counterfeit rappers say I’m stealing they flows / But I can’t steal what you never made up, bitch! / Y’all some duplicate rap cloning niggas / I manufacture you hoes put on your makeup, bitch!” he raps. “Let me explain, nothing’s been new since Big Daddy Kane / Flows been recycled passed around to different names.

“Eleven years and still counting / And y’all get a couple of hit records, make some noise and have the nerve to start shouting?” he continues. “You lyin’ to yaself, just admit it / May not like the way I used it, but you know you ain’t invent it, boy / Do your research before you make a claim so bogus that’s disrespecting pioneers in the game.”

Big Sean previously took credit for inventing what he deemed the “Supa Dupa” flow, which Drake later popularized in his rhymes.

Via HipHopDX.com

Ludacris “BadaBoom”

Birdman & Busta Rhymes Confirm Cash Money Deal

Well it’s official, Busta Rhymes is the newest member of YMCMB.

If there was any doubt about Busta’s signing to Cash Money, let this video be all the confirmation you need, and listen to what Birdman and Busta Rhymes have to say about the new deal below. Via hiphopwired.com

New Music: Busta Rhymes feat. Chris Brown “Why Stop Now”

Big Sean Reponds To Ludacris’ “BadaBoom” Diss

Ludacris’ newly released mixtape 1.21 Gigawatts featured a swift message to Drake and Big Sean and addressed their taking credit for what is called the “Supa Dupa” flow. The track, “Badaboom” responds to the younger rappers’ alleged claims that Luda stole that punchline pattern. However, Big Sean offered his own side of the issue to KUBE 93 radio in Seattle.

“Ya’ll sure [the song] is about me? ‘Cause I didn’t hear no name or nothing, ” he said. “I ain’t got no problems with Luda, I never did. I think he’s referring to an interview I did over a year ago. Literally over a year ago. But in the interview I said he’s a legend. I respect people who is ahead of me. I respect OGs and the Gs in general. The only thing I said–[the interviewers] was telling me about the “Supa Dupa” flow. They call it the Supa Dupa flow because on Big Sean my second mixtape I had a flow on there where I was using one word to describe another word in a punchline form.”

He continued, “I feel like Drake made it more popular on the song ‘Forever.’ A lot of people thought Drake made that up and this was new, and Drake was like, ‘I could trace that back to Big Sean actually on his mixtape. That’s where I first heard it. I think that’s where a lot of emcees got it from.’ That’s what Drake said. So people was telling me, ‘This is your flow.’ And I’m like, ‘Alright.'”

He also said he understood that the flow came before him, and perhaps even before Ludacris.

“I’m pretty sure it was done before [Luda] but I’m just saying where it came from now. We talkin’ about now…I’m not trying to debate and say, ‘I was the first to do this ever.’ I’m just saying that’s just where it was between us. So [some interviewers] asked me, ‘What’s a good example of [the Supa Dupa flow] and what’s a bad example of it?’ And I think I said [Luda’s] ‘balloons’ line. But I’m telling you this was over a year ago. I can’t believe this was something that’s been lingering this long…I don’t have no problems with Luda. I didn’t even know he cared that much, for a year, to be thinking about what I said in interviews…I think Luda is the best, I think he’s a legend.” Via hiphopdx.com

New Video: Wale feat Miguel “Lotus Flower Bomb”

Leave a Reply

